No News…

I strongly hesitate to even tap out these words: no news is good news. Because the minute I do so, you know something is going to happen. But I’ll risk it because I feel like I haven’t posted in this blog in ages.

But the reality is: Stella is pretty much not a problem. I really get why people will rescue one Greyhound and then go back again (and again–and again.)

The only real issue she has is that she can be growly on lead. This, I have learned, is something that just comes with the dog or doesn’t. The best thing to do is to just avoid extended “meet and greets” with other dogs if she’s on lead.

The therapy work we do at the psych facility is challenging and I question how long I’ll continue. The people act funny, smell funny and, as much coaching as we do, asking them to be gentle in their approach, there is generally at least one person who comes at her and frightens her. I’ve shifted to letting her walk around without her leash and I believe she feels more secure without it. And I’m reducing her sessions from an hour to 30-45 minutes. We’ll see…

I’m training for another half marathon and Stella has been training right alongside me. I’m now up to 9 milers for my long runs–I sort of wish I could take her with me on the actual day of the race. It feels odd not to run with her, like I’m missing a 65 pound, four legged, black and white appendage.

So yeah, no news is good news. And honestly, I’ve been writing a lot less and “arting” a lot more. Check out Wildpots, my latest endeavor!

2 Responses to “No News…”

  1. HandH Says:

    Wow, that is pretty impressive, both for you and your hound! There’s not many greyhounds fit enough to do nine miles – I know you can build up their stamina, but Stella must be really amazingly fit by now. Good luck in your next race.

  2. IHeartDogs Says:

    Been waiting for a post in forever! 🙂
    Glad all is well and good luck with the next marathon.

    Eeekkk, that does sound scary to volunteer at the psyche facility… Maybe you could switch to nursing homes or hospitals instead?

    I ❤ Stella

Leave a Reply

